MATG:WWII Some questions about the movement groups

This is a general forum for all types of posts related to Military models.

Moderators: dnichols, GHQ, Mk 1

Post Reply
pacocopan
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 3:05 pm
Location: Málaga (Spain)

MATG:WWII Some questions about the movement groups

Post by pacocopan »

Hello, my name is Juan Francisco Medina Sánchez. I'm writing you from Malaga (Spain).
I hope you forgive my english.

How many times can move (in a turn) a movement group? if all stands belonging to a movement grup have moved once without expending all their movement points, can I try to move the group once more time? And if only have moved some stands?

Can I split freely the movement groups? An example: a movement group with one infantry base of infantry and one AFV base (faster) expending all their movements points in a movement action. Are the stragglers the only exception?


Thanks in advance.

RedLeif
E5
Posts: 784
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 3:11 am
Location: Boise, ID
Contact:

Post by RedLeif »

Glad to hear from you Juan.
Thanks for picking up the rules and giving them a try.
I was just covering this topic with a new player at the store the other night. So I'll try to help.
The Movment Group may attempt to move as many times as you have orders plus one. See pg 11, rules 8.2.5 and 8.2.6.

So you have an infantry company (3 stands) and connected (base to base) Battalion HQ stand designated as one group, the only one you designated in the movement posture this turn. You determine you have 2 orders. This movement group rolls a cohesion check with an order (no modifier) and an attached HQ (-2 to the die roll) but fails. The opponent moves a group. You spend your second order to move this company again with the same modifiers and the same failed result. Your opponent may move a group. Finally you now attempt to move this group for the last time without an order (+3 to the die roll) and an HQ in the group (-2) for a net modifier of +1 to the die roll. You roll a 2, +1 to the die roll = 3 you pass.
All the stands of the group may now move if you want them to or not. They may go in different directions and split up or they may all move together, provided they each pay the correct number of movement points for each inch of terrain they enter into. So YES you can freely split the elements of a movement group into smaller groups or individual stands, its up to you. The AFV's, in your example, can race ahead, or withdraw, or match the pace of the infantry they are accompanying, remaining in base to base contact.

Now see page 11 rule 8.3.1 "each stand may execute movement once per movement phase..." So once a stand or group, in the movment posture, passes its cohesion to move you may move it up to its total allowed movement points. But when you pass the play back to your opponent to move his next group or the movement phase terminates, the units of the group that just passed their cohesion check are done for the rest of the phase (and turn). If you forget to move a stand of a group or don't move it far enough, you have to wait until next turn to try to move it again.

regards,
Leif

pacocopan
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 3:05 pm
Location: Málaga (Spain)

Post by pacocopan »

RedLEif, very clear your explanation.
Thank you.

Post Reply