Bases

This is a general forum for all types of posts related to Military models.

Moderators: dnichols, GHQ, Mk 1

VonJud

Bases

Post by VonJud »

Hi, Im new to the game and have a Q? about bases. I have the Combat Command Africa Korp box set. The rules say to base the AFV models on a 1"X1" base but dosent mention the infantry. The picture shows the Inf. on round bases and the AFVs not based at all. Where do you get the round bases and is plastic card stock good for the AFVs? Thanks for any help.

fredjg

Post by fredjg »

You can purchase round bases from other miniature manufacturers, up to and including the "Evil Empire" - which can be expensive... or use "fender" washers which are available from home centers, in a number of sizes... or pennies .... or small denomination coins from other countries.... or plastic poker chips... the list is generally endless.

As for square bases - I cut mine from 1/16" plywood and then glue "flex steel" to the bottom (as my storage is lined with magnetic sheets) - some use thin metal bases available from other suppliers or gathered at local conventions. Some people buy pre-cut masonite, plastic, plywood.... One caveat about paper or card bases, they can warp, twist and/or disintegrate when you apply glue to hold the flock/grass/filler.

Mk 1
E5

Post by Mk 1 »

Image Hiya VonJud! Welcome to the world of hobby-addiction.

Before I address your questions specifically, it is worth mentioning that many different rule sets are used by the folks around here. Even many of those who play with the GHQ "Microarmor, The Game" rules often play other rules too.

Some rule sets have very specific recommendations for basing your models. But most experienced microarmor hobbyists have developed their own preferences, which may or may not co-incide with any particular ruleset.