Page 1 of 1
How does Cover Work?!
Posted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:22 pm
by rommel58
Hello everyone.
In the rules there is no section on cover, and i am puzzled to what role it plays in the game and how it works.
Could anyone shed some light on this?
Thanks, much appreciated!!

Posted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 8:18 pm
by RedLeif
Defensive Cover in GHQ's WWII MicroArmour: The Game is addressed through modifications to the roll of 2d6 just prior to consulting the CRT by the Firing Player. See the Standard Fire Procedure guide at the back of the book (specifically step "6." for each firing stand). Also examine the terrain effects chart carefully.
If this helped in no way whatsoever could you refine your question somewhat?
RedLeif
Posted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 5:42 pm
by rommel58
Sorry

, I am referring to how it works in Micro Squad.
Posted: Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:17 am
by RedLeif
Do you mean covering fire, or do you refer to terrain providing cover?
Posted: Mon Sep 12, 2011 4:43 pm
by rommel58
Terrain providing cover (i.e. wrecks, forests, etc.).
Posted: Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:51 pm
by RedLeif
Cover is a result of the terrain the target of an attack is in. Terrain may affect two types of rolls in the game, Cohesion rolls (the ‘can I fire?’ roll) and Combat rolls (the ‘what did my fire do? roll). Look at the Terrain Effects chart, there's a column titled "Is Line of Sight Blockedâ€. If the target of the attack is in a type of terrain that blocks line of sight and the target hasn’t fired previously in the turn, it can not be seen and thus can’t be fired on. In some cases, per rule 6.1.6 if the target has fired earlier in this turn it has revealed itself, the terrain modifier is only applied to the combat roll.
If the terrain does not block LOS, in the case of a light improved position for example, it may still provide ‘cover’. In these cases, when the attacking player makes the cohesion roll, it is modified by the terrain effect AND the combat die roll is modified also (if the cohesion roll was successful).
There is something new in the squad rules compared with the platoon rules and that is the sentence "In order to be spotted, a unit in this terrain must have fired in this phase or [be] adjacent to a friendly stand" This implies that if you’ve got an stand adjacent to the target you can see it and fire on it. I’ve not played with this rule yet so I haven’t see it in play yet but I look forward to trying it.
Example A:
The German player has an infantry squad positioned in wooded terrain.
The American has an M4 tank and he wants to shoot at the infantry during the direct fire phase. The tank is 8" away and the infantry has not fired yet this turn. The American may not fire on it as the tank cannot spot it.
Example B:
Same as above except the infantry did fire earlier in this turn.
Now the American can declare the inf sqd as a target and the tank as an attacker.
Next, the American would roll cohesion for the firing tank (and anything else shooting at this target. There is no cohesion roll modifier, as the German unit has exposed its existence by firing. But if the American passes his cohesion roll and rolls on the CRT, this roll is modified by +4 to the roll because the infantry is in the woods - the effect of the terrain. At 8" there is no additional modification due to range.
Sorry I'm so long winded but I hope this helps.
Leif