Page 1 of 1

Rules Question: Movement Distance and Order Points

Posted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 4:04 pm
by Ragnar65
Hi Guys,

I´m a bit confused about Order Points and max. movement of units. One example:

My Pz V "Panther" has a speed of max. 12 inches according to the Weapons Statistics Table. The Command Efficiency Table shows me a maximum of 5 orders a turn when the modified Die Roll will be 13+. As I understand the rules I may spend 1 Orderpoint per 1 Inch movement up to the maximum for the appropriate unit. But this Panther cannot reach its max.speed because this needs 12 Order Points...
Is that right or do I misunderstand anything? I hope I´m right that the column "Speed" names the maximum inches of movement of a unit... ;-)

I´d appreciate any helpful hints...

Ragnar65

Posted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 7:55 pm
by dougeagle
8.2.5- page 11 of main rulebook
"You may attempt ordered movement for a group as many times as you like, so long as you expend one movement order for each attempt. This means that if you fail to move a group on your first attempt, you may try again and again as long as you continue to expend orders for it. Each attempt is considered a separate movement action. Your opponent must be allowed a movement action of his own before you attempt moving a group a second or third time."

8.3.2- "Stands move across the playing surface, inch by inch, expending movement points as they do. A stand may not enter or cross terrain without sufficient movement points remaining to do so."

Movement points is the number of inches that your vehicle/ stand has per turn. Thus your Panther tank will have 12, plus or minus modifiers for Terrain when using the Terrain Effects Chart. You don't have to use all of it, you can move your Panther 6 inches instead, or even 3 inches...whatever you choose, but you cannot exceed its movement allowed, which is 12.

My Pz V "Panther" has a speed of max. 12 inches according to the Weapons Statistics Table. The Command Efficiency Table shows me a maximum of 5 orders a turn when the modified Die Roll will be 13+. As I understand the rules I may spend 1 Orderpoint per 1 Inch movement up to the maximum for the appropriate unit. But this Panther cannot reach its max.speed because this needs 12 Order Points...
No. You don't have to order the Panther for each MP allowed. The order is for its entire movement or partial movement if you want.
I hope I´m right that the column "Speed" names the maximum inches of movement of a unit... :wink:
Yep, sure is...don't forget that its tracked as well :lol:

Don't worry about asking questions for understanding the playability of the game, I did the same thing when I first got them.

Hope that helps :D

Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2011 1:13 am
by Ragnar65
Hi Doug,

well, the Terrain Effects Chart mentions "Movement Point Cost per 100 Meter". And in MATG 1 inch represents 100 meters. That´s why I thought for a movement of 12 inches I´ll need 12 MP´s... If that´s not the correct interpretation, what does the "Movement Point Cost per 100 Meter" stand for? Maybe this:

Tracked units in Woods have a "Movement Point Cost per 100 Meter" of 3. So when the Panther may move up to 12 inches under normal circumstances, in this case it might move up to a maximum of 4 inches? On the other hand, will my Panther may move up to 24 inches on Good Roads because the MP Cost on Good Roads is.5?

Ragnar65

Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2011 1:46 am
by microgeorge
Ragnar, that is correct. Up to 24 inches on a good road but only 4 inches in woods.

Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2011 5:05 am
by Ragnar65
microgeorge wrote:Ragnar, that is correct. Up to 24 inches on a good road but only 4 inches in woods.
Thank you,
now the whole tables and charts get pretty clearer to me.