Page 1 of 1

MicroSquad Rules Question

Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2011 11:30 pm
by RedLeif
Since the National Artillery Efficiency rules (7.10) are in effect, does it take the same amount of turns to 'terminate' a 'duration' indirect artillery fire mission, as it does to call one? I'm referring to the specific wording in rule 7.8.4 (page 10) where it says ".... you would have to make a successful cohesion die roll one turn prior to the turn in which you wish to 'terminate' the mission..."

It makes sense to me that it would be easier to cancel a mission than to call one so it works as written. But I can also see it from the point of view, that if a nation relies on runners and land lines for communication back to their artillery batteries it may take just as long to communicate any change to them.

Just curious.
Leif

Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 7:04 am
by microgeorge
For most nationalities, all indirect fire must be plotted before the scenario begins. The exceptions are the U.S., British, and Germans. My approach was that if an indirect fire mission occurs during a scenario ( 1 turn = 1 minute of real time), the indirect fire must be time critical and essential to the attack. I simply assumed that, in that case, forward observers would have the capability to cancel the mission (infantry outpacing a rolling barrage for instance). This is a far easier than adjusting the indirect fire during the scenario time frame. Very few armies during WWII had the capability do that.
-George Chrestensen (designer- WWII Microsquad)