All,
After a couple run-thrus I think I've got the fire and movement mechanics down, but still some questions. As I interpret the rules:
During Posture Determination, only FIRE and MOVE postures are committed with all MOVE units marked with "green bead". The FIRE/MOVE posture is actually a result of firing a unit during the Standard Fire Phase that is committed to MOVE. Therefore,
1) Unit in FIRE posture can fire during Standard Fire or Opportunity Fire with no penalty
2) Unit in FIRE/MOVE posture can fire in only Standard Fire with +3 Cohesion penalty and then still move and conduct an Overrun and/or Close Assault
3) Unit in MOVE posture can not fire but can Overrun and/or Close Assault
Therefore Overruns and Close Assaults are not Fire actions - i.e. if a Fire/Move posture unit is already marked with a Fired status from the Standard Fire phase it can still move then conduct an Overrun and/or Close Assault as/after it moves. This is the part I'm not positive about. Seems correct though from a tactics standpoint - a unit fires to suppress (with +3 penalty), then moves, then overruns and/or close assaults.
One other clarification - can a defending FIRE or FIRE/MOVE posture unit marked with a Fired status take another defensive shot during an Overrun? The rules specifically allow this for defending against Close Assault only if the Fired defender is in the FIRE posture, but don't state it for defending against an Overrun.
Appreciate anyone's clarifications.
Thanks
Matt
WW2 MicroSquad - Firing opportunities / restrictions
Moderators: dnichols, GHQ, Mk 1
-
- Posts: 24
- Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:42 am
-
- E5
- Posts: 100
- Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:57 am
- Location: Arlington, TX
Matt,
Correct on points 1 and 3. However, units in Fire/Move posture can fire during either the Standard Fire Phase or use Opportunity Fire during the Movement Phase. Also, units defending against an overrun may not attempt fire again if they have already attempted to fire that turn. Close Assaults and Overruns are not fire actions.
-George Chrestensen
Correct on points 1 and 3. However, units in Fire/Move posture can fire during either the Standard Fire Phase or use Opportunity Fire during the Movement Phase. Also, units defending against an overrun may not attempt fire again if they have already attempted to fire that turn. Close Assaults and Overruns are not fire actions.
-George Chrestensen
-
- Posts: 24
- Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:42 am
George,
Thanks! One more point on overruns - if a unit survives a overrun and is not still adjacent to an enemy unit can it later use OpFire, assuming it has not yet Fired? I think it can.
Also, I'm a bit confused on the FIRE/MOVE posture. I think it is a sub-set of the MOVE posture, determined during execution of the Standard Fire or the Movement phase. A unit determined to be in MOVE posture in the Posture Determination Phase transitions into the FIRE/MOVE posture in one of three ways:
FIRE/MOVE = unit Standard Fires at +3 then moves up to half its movement allowance, can't OpFire
OR
FIRE/MOVE = unit OpFires at +3 then moves up to half its movement allowance
OR
FIRE/MOVE = unit moves up to half its movement allowance then OpFires at +3
Therefore, only MOVE = any unit that has not Standard Fired and moves greater than half its movement allowance. Unit can't OpFire.
Last, being in either MOVE or FIRE/MOVE doesn't matter in overrun or close assault - just have to have enough movement allowance to make contact (+1 for close assault)
Hopefully I've got that all right or I'm very confused.
It's great to talk directly with the game designer!
Thanks - Matt
Thanks! One more point on overruns - if a unit survives a overrun and is not still adjacent to an enemy unit can it later use OpFire, assuming it has not yet Fired? I think it can.
Also, I'm a bit confused on the FIRE/MOVE posture. I think it is a sub-set of the MOVE posture, determined during execution of the Standard Fire or the Movement phase. A unit determined to be in MOVE posture in the Posture Determination Phase transitions into the FIRE/MOVE posture in one of three ways:
FIRE/MOVE = unit Standard Fires at +3 then moves up to half its movement allowance, can't OpFire
OR
FIRE/MOVE = unit OpFires at +3 then moves up to half its movement allowance
OR
FIRE/MOVE = unit moves up to half its movement allowance then OpFires at +3
Therefore, only MOVE = any unit that has not Standard Fired and moves greater than half its movement allowance. Unit can't OpFire.
Last, being in either MOVE or FIRE/MOVE doesn't matter in overrun or close assault - just have to have enough movement allowance to make contact (+1 for close assault)
Hopefully I've got that all right or I'm very confused.
It's great to talk directly with the game designer!
Thanks - Matt
-
- E5
- Posts: 784
- Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 3:11 am
- Location: Boise, ID
- Contact:
Hi,
I noticed something in your first e-mail I thought I'd better clarify. During the posture determination phase I recommend you mark stands in the Fire/Move posture with a bead of some other color (i.e. light blue). Technically stands in the movement posture may not conduct fire and then move. Stands in the F/M posture may only use half their MP's, whether they fire or not (see 8.3.2). It really is a different posture than firing or moving.
From the MicroArmour (platoon scale) rules:
"8.5.1 Opportunity Fire (OF) is a variation of the Standard Fire process but takes place during the Movement Phase. Only those stands that are in the fire or fire/move posture and have not fired during the Standard Fire Phase may execute this type of attack. Stands in the fire/move posture incur the usual +3 Cohesion roll modifier when firing opportunity fire."
hopefully this clarifies it for you.
Regards,
Leif
I noticed something in your first e-mail I thought I'd better clarify. During the posture determination phase I recommend you mark stands in the Fire/Move posture with a bead of some other color (i.e. light blue). Technically stands in the movement posture may not conduct fire and then move. Stands in the F/M posture may only use half their MP's, whether they fire or not (see 8.3.2). It really is a different posture than firing or moving.
From the MicroArmour (platoon scale) rules:
"8.5.1 Opportunity Fire (OF) is a variation of the Standard Fire process but takes place during the Movement Phase. Only those stands that are in the fire or fire/move posture and have not fired during the Standard Fire Phase may execute this type of attack. Stands in the fire/move posture incur the usual +3 Cohesion roll modifier when firing opportunity fire."
hopefully this clarifies it for you.
Regards,
Leif
-
- E5
- Posts: 100
- Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:57 am
- Location: Arlington, TX