Just curious

This is a general forum for all types of posts related to Military models.

Moderators: dnichols, GHQ, Mk 1

Post Reply
panzergator
E5
Posts: 2983
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 3:44 pm

Just curious

Post by panzergator »

I wonder why GHQ never made the Israeli M60A1 with ERA.
All blessings flow from a good mission statement.
Pogo was right. So was Ike.
"A Gentleman is a man who is only rude intentionally." (Churchill)

Hoth_902
E5
Posts: 1039
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:08 pm
Location: Pacific Northwest
Contact:

Re: Just curious

Post by Hoth_902 »

Same reason why they don't make the US M60A1 with and without reactive armor and without the search light......they hate me.
Quantity has a Quality all its own.

http://warriorbear.weebly.com/

panzergator
E5
Posts: 2983
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 3:44 pm

Re: Just curious

Post by panzergator »

Hoth, a good pair of small clippers will dismount the searchlight on an M60A1. It is very likely that, had M60A1 remained in active service beyond First Gulf, units would have been given barrel jackets for M60A1 RISE/PASSIVE) tanks, as well as the armored air cleaner boxes. In any case, a close examination of GHQ's M60A3 w/addon armor reveals it to actually be an M60A1 with barrel jacket and armored air cleaner boxes. It doesn't have any other hallmarks of the M60A3. M60A1 RISE/PASSIVE had smoke grenade launchers, by the way. So you can call that one whichever is convenient. If it's an M60A1, put it in an H series formatio, five tanks/platoon, 3 platoon/company, 3 line companies/battalion. If it's an A3, 4 tanks/platoon, 3 platoons/company, 4 companies/battalion.
All blessings flow from a good mission statement.
Pogo was right. So was Ike.
"A Gentleman is a man who is only rude intentionally." (Churchill)

mike robel
E5
Posts: 151
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:41 pm

Re: Just curious

Post by mike robel »

My tank platoon had 5 M60A1 Rise, then M60A1 Rise Passive
My 1st Company which was M60A1 Rise had 5 tank platoons.
My 2nd Tank Company what was M60A1 Rise Passive had 4 tank platoons.
My 3rd Tank Company had M60A3 TTS.
About a year later, the battalion got IPM1, the last battalion to get them. We were supposed to be the 1st battalion to get the M1A1, but alas. It wasn't ready.

panzergator
E5
Posts: 2983
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 3:44 pm

Re: Just curious

Post by panzergator »

What led to your company having 4 platoons? What time frame? Did the other companies in your battalion have 4 also? What TOE?

In 1978, 3-32 Armor had M60A1 Rise/Passives, but I think they got A3s sometime in '79. 1-32AR, in the same brigade, had 2s, so may have gotten replacements around 1980. I'm not sure, since I was mucking around the swamps of Ft. Polk by then. I wonder why your units were running the older model so long, Mike. I understand why 5th Mech at Polk had older tanks. We were 16th out of 16 divisions on the DAMPLE. But that wouldn't apply to your units.
All blessings flow from a good mission statement.
Pogo was right. So was Ike.
"A Gentleman is a man who is only rude intentionally." (Churchill)

mike robel
E5
Posts: 151
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:41 pm

Re: Just curious

Post by mike robel »

Tank Platoon - JAN 77 - JUL 78
CAV PLT - JUL 78 - DEC 78
Troop XO (no tank) DEC 78 - DEC 79
1st Company - 1981 - 1982 (1BDE/1st ID)
2nd Company 1983-84 (2BDE/1st ID)
3rd Company 1984 - 1985 or so. (3 BDE/1st ID)

Post Reply