Painting T-72 Tusk

This is a general forum for all types of posts related to Military models.

Moderators: dnichols, GHQ, Mk 1

jaxenro

Painting T-72 Tusk

Post by jaxenro »

OK I am new to this tried a different way for paining these T-72 TUSKers

Please tell me what you would have done differently so I can learn. They still need some touch up on the machine gun and I grabbed a 20/0 brush for the Z to add to the side so it won't look as heavy as last time

the kit

I modified some T pins to use as holders just a drop of super glue

and pinned them to a stick

for primer I used black gesso

looks like I completely ruined them

but gesso shrinks amazingly when dry - just a couple of pinholes I sent back and touched up

I used a lighter shade of green over the black base and basically drybrushed straight from the bottle first the darker one then just the real highlights with the lighter

and here I am now

jaxenro

Re: Painting T-72 Tusk

Post by jaxenro »

I think it gives a dirty look of a well used tank

i will try replacing the machine gun barrel with thin wire and go easy on the primer I think it thickened it a little too much

Hoth_902
E5

Post by Hoth_902 »

I have a couple of question to start off.

1. Did you hand paint this?
2. Did you go strait from black primer to dry brushing the lighter color? If so, why go with black as the base coat and not a green or some other color that close to Russian base coat color?
3. Did you use the paint right from the bottle without thinning?

My thoughts on each.