Rules Question: Command Value and [R]

This is a general forum for all types of posts related to Military models.

Moderators: dnichols, GHQ, Mk 1

Post Reply
Ragnar65
E5
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 6:08 pm

Rules Question: Command Value and [R]

Post by Ragnar65 »

Hi guys,

while reading the Wehrmacht ´47 supplement and quick rules "The Tank Game", a few questions rose in my head. FOA to be honest, I don´t own a copy of the full rules yet, because I´m not sure if I´d buy MATG or MA 1:1 Squad... So maybe my questions would be answered from the main rulebook...

Well, here´s number one:

[8.2] of the Tank rules refer to the "command value" of the GHQ-stand. It should be assigned as part of the scenario. But the W´47 scenarios don´t show me any command value...??? What happens, when my force doesn´t have a GHQ-stand?

Number two:
What does the [R] in the W´47 TO&Es stand for? I noticed that in the "normal" WWII TO&Es this [R] does not appear...

And the third one (for today... ;-) )
May I designate any stand in my force as GHQ? I saw in the TO&Es, that GHQs are only listed on the Battalion-level or above... So are GHQs only available on that levels? What about platoons - don´t they have any kind of HQ?

Well, I hope these questions aren´t too silly to you and anyone could help me out with some answers.

Kind regards,

Ragnar65

General Retreat
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 6:02 am
Location: North of Dayton, Ohio

Post by General Retreat »

Bought WWII Micro Armour: The Game. I'm satisfied. There may be more ideas in 1:1 but I prefer representing larger engagements.

HG units? I decided just designating an ordinary infantry base as an HQ is problematic. Idea is the other side doesn't know which one it is and can't deliberately target it. But when the company breaks up, where is the HQ? If a base is lost, was it the HQ? Since HQs are weaker, they should give themselves away when firing. How secretive can one be?

I've decided to create obvious HQ stands (for infantry). Fewer, lightly armed figures with a jeep (VW for Axis). Then my house rules forbid targeting the HQ unless closer than any other base in the company.

dougeagle
E5
Posts: 726
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 10:07 am
Location: Northern Alberta

Post by dougeagle »

Ragnar
[8.2] of the Tank rules refer to the "command value" of the GHQ-stand. It should be assigned as part of the scenario. But the W´47 scenarios don´t show me any command value...??? What happens, when my force doesn´t have a GHQ-stand?
The command value is a number that I think you give to your commander depending on their battle experience or level of training. An Example would be Wittman or Meyer. Both were excellent commanders and could have a +2 to their command value. All that does is help out with the number of orders issued per turn.
Now when your force does not have a GHQ, each stand, I think, can move or shoot, but must pass a cohesion roll. There are modifiers for that too, which increases the chances of that unit not making the roll. Basically, if you have a GHQ stand, and you roll for command orders, you can use those orders to move your units around.
Example: British infantry battalion command stand has a +1 CV. Unit cohesion is 16. Rolling 2d6 (say the roll is 7) + 1 for CV = 8. On the Command Efficiency table the GHQ stand can issue 2 orders per turn. It issues the orders for two companies to move forward. 3rd and 4th companies can either attempt to roll to move themselves or stay put. If they choose to roll, they must roll for cohesion with a +3 modifier as they are moving without orders.
That help?
Number two:
What does the [R] in the W´47 TO&Es stand for? I noticed that in the "normal" WWII TO&Es this [R] does not appear...
The [R] stands for Recon. It can be an infantry stand, jeep, recon tank, motorcycle.
And the third one (for today... Wink )
May I designate any stand in my force as GHQ? I saw in the TO&Es, that GHQs are only listed on the Battalion-level or above... So are GHQs only available on that levels? What about platoons - don´t they have any kind of HQ?
What I did was I made a separate stands for GHQ and HQ and labeled them as such. For the labels, I just used Microsoft Excel and put in GHQ, 1 HQ, 2 HQ, 1 Coy, 2 Coy...depending on how many battalions there were and companies too.
How I represented my GHQ was I had 2 officers on a round stand. For HQ I used 1 officer, 1 rifleman or radio man if that option was available.
With the MATG rules, they are based on 1 stand = 30 men, 3 tanks etc etc, so the need for HQ stands at the platoon level are not necessary and because of the scale of the game, when you have a battalion of infantry or tanks, you still need a battalion commander. You can play at this level with just that commander, but a GHQ would be required if you choose to play with 2 battalions and support elements.
Now, at the platoon level like GHQ's 1:1 squad level, then I think each platoon would need a platoon leader as now you have 3 squads which now makes a platoon. So then you would need a platoon command stand. That's where having multiple HQ stands comes in handy.

Hope that helps :D
Doug

A goal is not always meant to be reached, it often serves simply as something to aim at.
Bruce Lee

RedLeif
E5
Posts: 784
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 3:11 am
Location: Boise, ID
Contact:

Post by RedLeif »

Hi Ragnar,

I thought I'd throw in my 2 cents on this as well.

Q's 1 & 3:
HQ and GHQ stands are 'purchased' when designing a scenario. So their costs (for the various qualities) are covered in that section of the MATG rule book (pg107). But you can turn any stand into a standard GHQ or HQ if you double its cost. So a Pz IV H tank platoon that is the Battalion HQ runs you 160 points instead of 80. HQ's with bonuses (i.e. a +2 GHQ) or penalties (i.e. a -1 HQ) cost more or less and their modifiers are applied to movement cohesion rolls during play.

An HQ or GHQ primarily effects movement in the MATG rules as written. See the Movement Cohesion Chart at the end of the free rules. No GHQ means no orders for movement.

As MATG is a platoon scale game it skips the platoon and even company level command level and picks up at Battalion and Regimental/Brigade level.

As Doug Eagle said - [R] stands are recon stands. They are able to move without orders much easier than normal units, to represent their independent nature. Look at the Movement Cohesion Chart to see the effect. there appears to be no cost to designating a stand as an [R] stand.

If you have more questions please ask.

best regards
Leif

Ragnar65
E5
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 6:08 pm

Post by Ragnar65 »

Hello Guys,

thanks alot to everybody who gave me some kind of information. The things have gotten much clearer now for me, the rest should be done by the main rulebook... :wink:

Ragnar65

dougeagle
E5
Posts: 726
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 10:07 am
Location: Northern Alberta

Post by dougeagle »

RedLeif wrote:An HQ or GHQ primarily effects movement in the MATG rules as written. See the Movement Cohesion Chart at the end of the free rules. No GHQ means no orders for movement.
best regards
Leif
Are you sure?
I was under the impression that even though your GHQ or HQ were lost, each company could move if it passed a Cohesion roll with a +3 modifier to it.
Doug

A goal is not always meant to be reached, it often serves simply as something to aim at.
Bruce Lee

RedLeif
E5
Posts: 784
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 3:11 am
Location: Boise, ID
Contact:

Post by RedLeif »

Hi Dougeagle,
I'm sure.

I believe I'm accurately quoting the chart here: "GHQ Eliminated = NO FURTHER MOVEMENT ORDERS ALLOWED". Even the all caps are as printed, I didn' t put that in, I wouldn't want to be rude in e-mail.

Perhaps you feel I've implied they can no longer move without a GHQ, I didn't mean that. I tried to conclude what the rules say which is that the Player couldn't use movement orders to move units about the board, without a GHQ. And it appears you arrived at the same conclusion I did: If you want to move a unit without an order a cohesion die roll modifier is applied.

In my smaller games I simply 'designate' a battalion HQ as the GHQ as it is the highest command on the board. There is no cost difference between a GHQ and HQ and it works fine.

regards,
Leif

dougeagle
E5
Posts: 726
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 10:07 am
Location: Northern Alberta

Post by dougeagle »

RedLeif wrote:Hi Dougeagle,
I believe I'm accurately quoting the chart here: "GHQ Eliminated = NO FURTHER MOVEMENT ORDERS ALLOWED". Even the all caps are as printed, I didn' t put that in, I wouldn't want to be rude in e-mail.
Actually both the quick start (beer & pretzels) and main rules state the same thing.
GHQ Eliminated - No further orders allowed

There's nothing about No Further Movement Orders Allowed, even if you look at rule 8.2.2 in the quick start rules, it mentions no further orders. However, in rule 8.2.6 it does mention that if a group wishes to move, then it must roll for cohesion. Same thing is stated in the main rulebook as well.

Happy gaming all :D
Doug

A goal is not always meant to be reached, it often serves simply as something to aim at.
Bruce Lee

General Retreat
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 6:02 am
Location: North of Dayton, Ohio

Post by General Retreat »

After some play with a friend, decided the HQ stand (not an ordinary but secret HQ in my system but a distinctive stand*) cannot be targeted until all other (remaining) stands in its company have been targeted.

*My infantry HQ stands have just three figures, not heavily armed, and one a jeep or VW. Couldn't find another use for these vehicles, so why not in the HQ?

Post Reply