why does a stand with a 'D' have to rally before it can move?
Because 'D' is for Disorganized. But I also read it wrong too. If a stand is Disorganized, it can move, but has a +3 modifier to it, unless the stand has been ralled.
Also why do you say the marker is removed after a stand moves through it? I don't see that in the rules.
Rule 11.1.4
Any attempt to move OFF a mine marker requires a successful cohesion roll with a +3 die roll penalty. It is at the time that the owning player must inform his opponent whether the marker represents an active minefield or a 'dummy'.
If it is a 'dummy' it is removed from play for the remainder of the game. If active, the moving player undergoes a mine attack. The of minefield is determined and the owning player rolls 2D6 to obtain the result on the CRT based on that type.
To me, even if the mine marker is active, once the roll has been made to cause any sort of damage to the enemy stand, that mine is now spent. That's how I play it. Basically, the rules for MATG are flexible enough that you can do what you think is correct.
Answer too:
1) I would say yes to completing its movement without a second roll. But remember as well, if the mine attack ends in an 'E' - Eliminated, that stand is now removed from play. If the result is an S or D, then you have to factor in the modifier for its next turn.
Basically as I see it and how I play it, if the stand wants to leave the minefield and passes the roll and its an active mine marker, then deal with the mine attack and let the stand move a max of 2 inches. That's what I do.
2) See answer above.
I hope this helps.