Question re Cohesion movement Rolls in Modern Rules

This is a general forum for all types of posts related to Military models.

Moderators: dnichols, GHQ, Mk 1

Post Reply
KenPortner
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 9:56 pm

Question re Cohesion movement Rolls in Modern Rules

Post by KenPortner »

my question concerns Cohesion Rolls for movement. I want to make sure I understand.

The way I think it works is that you make one Cohesion roll for each Movement Group or Battlegroup, but that that roll is applied independently to each stand. So, for example, a stand that has a Supressed or Disrupted Marker that is part of a group may not be able to move due to modifiers whereas other stands may move.

The rules don't clearly say this I think, but I think this is what they mean. Is that correct?

Also, is there a FAQ or Errata anywhere? If found a GHQ site that says its supposed to have this stuff, but it's empty as far as I can tell. Thanks.

dnichols
E5
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 9:24 pm

Post by dnichols »

Ken, here is an answer for you straight for the designer. :-)

Yes, you make one Die-Roll per Movement or Battle Group.
This is compared to your Cohesion level (modified for damage
etc. to individual stands). This means that, if your
Cohesion Level is 15, a 15 allows all "undamaged" stands in
the group to move. Stands with S or D markers on them are
not working at full competency and, for one reason or
another, found themselves unable to either RECEIVE,
UNDERSTAND, or IMPLEMENT the order to move. See Rule
08.02.09.

This is explained in detail in the WWII rules. The fact that
I omitted the example below from the Modern rules was an
unfortunate oversight for which I apologize. When the WWII
rules were published, there were so few questions about it,
I assumed it was self evident. I was obviously wrong. Here
is the example from the WWII rulebook.

Example: "Max" declared a company of 3xT-34 platoons a
Movement Group. In the subsequent Combat Phase, one T-34
received fire and received an "S" result. The other two
stands in the company were unscathed. During the Movement
Phase, Max uses his first ordered move to get this company
into cover. The effect of an "S" is +4: He must roll a 10 or
less to move all three tanks. A roll of 11, 12, 13, or 14
will allow the undamaged tanks to move, but the "S" stand
must remain in place (It's a Straggler"). If he rolled a 15
or more, none of the stands could move. He could try again
as long as he has unused Movement Orders AND he can still
try once more without an order with an additional +3
die-roll modifier. (he would need a 7 or less to move the
"Suppressed" tank and an 11 or less to move the others.

I hope this clears up your question.

J. Fernandes
Daryl L Nichols Jr
Designer
Micro Force: The Game - American Civil War

KenPortner
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 9:56 pm

Post by KenPortner »

Thank you for the answer!

Post Reply